“But forget all that—
it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.
For I am about to do something new.
See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
I will create rivers in the dry wasteland…
Yes, I will make rivers in the dry wasteland
so My chosen people can be refreshed.”
Isaiah 43:18-20

Y’all, God is so funny!!
Oh, you probably need back story.

Yesterday I got my daughter down for a nap and knew I would have limited time to get one-on-one with God.

So obviously the first thing I did was get on here and check to see how many visitors/views/likes/comments I got on the post I had just put up. (neat.)
None. Zero.
And that made me sad. My mind started racing for reasons, something new I could post, and yada yada yada.
God finally interrupted and said,”You aren’t writing for them.”
Que?
You see, I want to. I really really want to write for you. I love writing, I always have. And when God called me to this adventure of “blogging” I was thrilled and so excited. Excited to see how He might use it. I want what I write to be something that encourages you, shows you something new, and pulls you toward Him. It’s all for good reasons, but He was trying to tell me that can’t be the point. I can’t be focused on or striving for being able to hear what my writing did for you. ‘Cause then I’m a slave to the writing, not enjoying the journey of just sharing with you whatever He’s shared with me. It becomes old and stale and rigid and a burden that way. But His yoke is easy and His burden is light. How can that go hand in hand with the goal of writing something every day?

He encouraged me to come to Him everyday for something new, regardless of if I ever write about it or if anyone ever reads it. Then, if it gets written, if you read it and you like it, if it encourages your heart = icing on the cake. Either way, He and I had an awesome time, and I’m a-okay with that.

So off I went yesterday on a grand adventure with Him that was so sweet and refreshing and exactly what I needed. Nothing got written, and that was okay.

Today, I sat down and…
I did the exact same thing I did yesterday.
yep.
Hey, I wanted to write what He showed me yesterday!
But then I caught myself, turned to face Him, and asked what He wanted to show me today. He told me to go to Isaiah 43, starting at verse 17. I’m not good with numbers, so I promise, I had no idea what was in those verses, but I just knew it was going to have something to do with what He taught me yesterday, and would probably involve water (our time together had a lot to do with water). I grabbed my Bible and a blue colored pencil (see, I was pretty sure about the water) and I flipped my Bible to Isaiah 43. HAH!
Here’s how He’s so funny! Not only is yes, its a lot about water, but what does it start out with? “But forget all that–” All that? In verse 17 God reminds the people of one of His most well-known salvations, the one they celebrate with feasts and sing about every Friday night for Shabbat. It was a BIG DEAL to them. It’s what they held onto and reminded each other of when they were afraid. It was the cornerstone to them of what it meant to be “God’s people.”

“But forget all that.”
Why?
“..it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.”

How often, when someone asks for your stories of God’s faithfulness to you, do you go back weeks, months or years to tell some amazing thing? That’s good, because that thing really was great. It was a BIG DEAL to you, just like the Red Sea ordeal was a BIG DEAL to the Israelites. But what about what God did this morning? What He whispered to you just a moment ago? What He comforted you with as you fell asleep last night?
Is He that near to us? Yes. Very much so, yes! And He wants to do amazing new things every day just to show us how near He really is. Half the time He’s already doing them, our eyes just aren’t open or our ears aren’t tuned to notice them. The other half of the time He’s waiting. Waiting for us to fix our eyes on Him and say, “What do You want to show me today?”

God is the God of yesterday, today, and tomorrow.
We see Him the most fully when we see all those aspects of Him.
Yesterday He was the God who let me sit on His lap like a little child as He talked to me about waterfalls and the beauty in every season, and showed me what are the desires of my heart.
Tomorrow He’ll be the God who has promised to never leave me or forsake me; who’s mercies are new every morning.
And today He’s the God of new things. The God who, with laugh lines at the edges of His eyes, reminds me just how present and perfect He is today, right now. I don’t have to rely on yesterday’s news, even though it was very good news! Instead, I get to be present in the moment with a living King who is very much not dead, and very much here with me.

“Yesterday is history,
Tomorrow is a mystery,
Today is a gift.
(That is why it is called the present.)

He was the God of our yesterdays.
He will still be the God of our tomorrows.
So come friend, let us let Him be the God of our todays.

And what a beautiful day it will be.

 

Leave a Reply

