“But all the while You’ve been there.
Kneeling in front of the puddle of me.
Lifting my chin,
and flashing that knowing grin.

Oh, how I love that grin!

You’re standing in the doorway, I lock eyes with You and You just know,
and I smile because I know You know, and I do too.
Locked in that peaceful gaze; the rest after the war.

‘…and there was a great calm.’
and You know.

You know where we’ve been,
You know what we’ve lost,
What we’ve gained,
and what that cost.

‘…and all at once my heart is calmed and stilled…’

You know, and I am known.
I know, and You smile.
Here in this place I don’t have to say a thing.”

 

Leave a Reply

